As reported by The Verge, Microsoft may be teasing an up and coming launch for the HoloLens 2. Earlier in the month, Microsoft’s technical fellow and HoloLens creator, Alex Kipman, published a 42-second video on YouTube which shows what appears to be a processor and perhaps a carbon-fibre construction. Kipman posted the video with the caption “Are you excited yet? I am! This has sparked rumours that Microsoft are planning to unveil the HoloLens 2 at the Mobile World Conference next week.


The event takes place in Barcelona on February 24th. Microsoft will stream the event live here at 5PM CET / 11AM ET / 4PM UK.

Some of The Things You Can Expect With HoloLens 2

Currently, the HoloLens has a 35-degree FOV and weighs 579 grams. Some of the things we can expect with the new device is for it to be smaller, lighter, include eye-tracking and have a 70-degree field of view, twice that of what it is now. You can also expect additional comfort thanks to the lighter frame.

According to a post by Windows Central. The mixed reality headset will also come with a new, custom Holographic Processing Unit (HPU) that will feature an AI coprocessor to natively and flexibly implement Deep Neural Networks. That means HoloLens 2 will be able to analyse visual data locally, without needing to send any data to the cloud. This should make HoloLens faster at recognizing objects and environments.

It’s not yet certain whether or not MWC 2019 will be the stage to grace the world with the 2nd-gen HoloLens. It could be that the company are teasing a different product entirely. However, many believe that it’s time for the new HoloLens. If we don’t see it now, then it’ll likely be showcased at the BUILD conference in a few months’ time. I guess we shall have to wait and see next week!

Write A Comment